Edmonds College Logo
Posted Jan. 4 - Serving and supporting students and the community remotely. Please do not come to campus unless you have an in-person class or a child at the Center for Families. Text us your questions at 425.243.0867.
We’re launching ctcLink — a new self-service portal and mobile app — and we’ve adjusted our business hours because of the upgrade. Learn more: edmonds.edu/hours.
COVID-19 updates | Winter 2021 Back to School Guide | Get ready to learn online | Center for Families and Housing are open!
Title IX

What is Title IX?

  • Title IX requires gender equity at a college in education programs, athletics, and activities that receive federal funding and the workplace.
  • Title IX prohibits gender discrimination, sexual harassment, and sex violence.

"No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance."

– Title IX, Education Amendments of 1972, Section 1681(a)

What does it all mean?

  • Prohibits gender discrimination, sexual harassment, and sex violence.
  • Protects against retaliation.
  • Ensures a safe place to report, be heard, and receive support.
  • The college has a responsibility to immediately take steps to resolve the situation, end the violence, and work to prevent reoccurrence.
  • Ensures fairness and equity in athletics, programs, clubs, and activities.

Who do I contact?

Casey King | Interim Title IX Coordinator

425.640.1246 | 425.218.8326

casey.king@edcc.edu | Clearview 105

Find more information on:

  • reporting,
  • what happens when you file or report a complaint, and
  • common fears.

Ten Areas of Title IX:

  1.  Access to higher education
  2.  Career education
  3.  Employment
  4.  Sexual harassment
  5.  Learning environment
  6.  Athletics
  7.  Pregnant and parenting students
  8.  Math and Science
  9.  Technology
  10.  Standardized testing

Learn More:

Read about the Title IX law passed under the Education Amendments of 1972 and Civil Rights Act of 1964:

U.S. Department of Labor

U.S. Department of Education

U.S. Department of Justice